Skip to content
March 16, 2013 / Meredith

Is A Hermit Still A Hermit If She Lives With Another Hermit?

Despite the impression I may have given so far, the fact is, I’m a hermit.  I live in relative solitude with my husband Knick.  He’s a hermit too, so we decided to practice hermitude together.  Sometimes it gets pretty boring, but for the most part we’re perfectly content in our little hermit abode.

I felt sorry for a person I was talking to (I know, talking to a person is clearly not in sync with being a hermit) who said her husband never does anything with her.  He doesn’t go to her important work functions with her.  He doesn’t go on vacation with her.  He doesn’t participate in raising their children with her.  He does, however, most likely do those things with someone else.  Except the raising kids part.  I think he’s probably avoiding that all together no matter whose kids are involved.

When I told her Knick and I were sitting around watching Batman (Adam West and Burt Ward) on TV I looked over at him and said, “I’m so glad I have a TV partner.”  She responded with, “at least you enjoy doing it together [even if it’s lame].”  She didn’t say the “even if it’s lame” thing, but she kind of implied it.

The thing is, she shouldn’t have married a hermit, which it kind of sounds like he is, except for that going out and boinking someone other than his wife thing.  Or maybe he just doesn’t like his wife and family.  Either way it’s kind of sad.  Seems like a big waste of what turned out to be a huge chunk of both their lives.

She’s going to divorce him.

Knick and I will never get divorced because that would mean we’d have to go out and meet with a lawyer or two.  We’d much rather sit together and watch Batman.  Some people are just made for each other, even if they’re both hermits.  Especially if they’re both hermits.

The End

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ritusthoughtcatcher / Mar 19 2013 12:20 pm

    I love Hermits…I am a Hermit n like you I’m lucky to married to a Hermit…more power to us!!! loved your post 🙂

    • meredith00 / Mar 19 2013 12:43 pm

      I wonder how many other people out there are like us. We may never know as they’re hiding away, being hermits. Thanks for reading and for your comment!

Trackbacks

  1. These are a few of my favorite things: #28 (The Hermit by Eugene Ionesco) | Ritu's Weblog

Leave a Reply

