Skip to content
April 1, 2013 / Meredith

Homie Mama

Dooce pretty much got the ball rolling for the personal blog community.  (I hate that word, community.  I reminds me of the nunnery which is now referred to as a community.  Community doesn’t make any of its members more close or familiar; it’s just one of those words used to fool you into feeling like you belong.)  Dooce is famous for getting fired from her job because she blogged about the people she worked with and the company she worked for.  It was all in good fun and she disguised things the best she could.  The trouble was, she told too many people about her blog, like work people, and therefore lost her job.  However, it was the best thing that could have happened to her.  At least that’s what she tells us on her blog.

I’m not going to make the same mistake as Dooce because A) I can’t afford to lose my job and B) I don’t tell anyone about this blog because I’m 1) looking at it as an experiment or 2) ashamed.  The thing is, there are some things that happen at my day job that are just so blog-worthy I can’t resist.

One of the most remarkable things about the clients I work with is their mothers.  It’s pretty hysterical seeing grown-ass men coming in with their mothers.  Not only are these grown-ass men, a lot of them are grown-ass gang-bangers.  I wonder what their nigga homies would think of them knowing they couldn’t keep an appointment without their mommies.  The thing is, the mommies think the appointment is all about them.  They come in all large (literally) and in charge (or so they think) and say “I got an appointment.”  I look those mommies right in the eye and say “No.  Your grown-ass son has an appointment.”

I’m not really sure what the point of this post is, except to say if you have kids, raise them and teach them responsibility for showing up at appointments and speaking for themselves.  There is nothing more pathetic than a grown-ass man who needs his mommy to speak for him, especially when it won’t make a damn bit of difference anyway.

The End

Leave a Reply

