Skip to content
October 6, 2013 / Meredith

On Blogging

I’ve been blogging for a long time and I still can’t get the hang of it.  I’m blinded by my “audience,” the meaning behind having a blog, and the scary concept of creating my own community.  It used to come to me so easily, but now it seems there are more rules to the blogging game.

I’m kind of a hermit so the word “community” makes me spit up in my mouth a little.   It’s overused and a little touchy-feely for me.  Ironically, I like hearing from people I would never know if I didn’t blog.  Does that constitute a community?  Ironic of that is that comments on my blog are few and far between, probably because…  Why?

The “rules” say to write quality content and be consistent with posts.  WTF?  When I started blogging years ago it was the freedom to express that drew so many people to the blog scene.  So, with the freedom to express what difference does it make if anyone reads it much less comments on it?  The point is expression, not being “liked” or raising stats, or even needing to be understood.  Right?

Conversely, why would someone express themselves on a public platform if they didn’t want some kind of feedback or validation?  See?  I don’t get it.

When I discovered one could have an unpublished blog I thought what’s the point?  I opened up an unpublished blog and I write on that thing all the time.  Freely and often.  It’s the being out there that arouses my censor.  Some blogs I read seem so natural and ordinary (in a good way) and I often wonder how much editing was involved before it was published for the masses.

They say write consistent content and write often.  I can do the often part but I don’t want to be bogged down by consciously being consistent.  Do I care if no one wants to read my blog?  Kind of.  But like me, my blog can be the hermit blog, valid and worthy, but shy and unassuming.  It’s the wallflower at the Blog Dance, wanting to fit in but ultimately not really caring if it does.

The End

Leave a Reply

