Skip to content
July 9, 2015 / Meredith

Words To Live By

I pass by an office every day that has a white board posted next to the entrance.  On that board is the “quote of the day.”

Today I decided I really hate that quotey white board.  It’s supposed to be all inspiring and uplifting, but after seeing those quotes day after day after day they’ve lost their punch and have become pretty nauseating.  I offer you some examples:

It is during our darkest moments we must focus to see the light ~ Aristotle Onassis

We can’t help everyone, but everyone can help someone ~ Ronald Reagan

Believe you can and you’re halfway there ~ Theodore Roosevelt

Lovely, right?  If only people were actually inspired by quotes like these.  They clutter social media and the walls of our stultifying workplaces, but are they really making people feel better about themselves and the human experience?  Do they actually motivate us to become better people?  I, for one, have become desensitized to these types of messages.

If I had an office and were compelled to send a message to every passer by via “quotes of the day,” I’d probably provide something like these:

Never put off till tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow ~ Mark Twain

Depression is merely anger without enthusiasm ~ Steven Wright

A man is as young as the woman he feels ~ Groucho Marx

I ask you, which quote board would you read?  If you prefer the first set, I wish you good luck in your search for unending rainbows and unicorns and kitties eating cotton candy.  If you prefer the second set, you’re my kind of people.

The End

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. beingwoke / Jul 11 2015 2:42 am

    I prefer inspiration quotes about knowing yourself, liberating society or bring active.
    I use quotes often on my posts but related to the post itself. I think they can be uplifting and different ones will touch different people. For example on tube stations they have boards and if there’s no messages on them they write up quotes. Sometimes they do inspire & on the days they do – maybe once every several months – I take a picture and save it.

    • Meredith / Jul 11 2015 10:27 am

      I’m pretty cynical, so the inspirational quotes are grating on my nerves. Age and life circumstances are factors in our preferences too, I believe. If inspirational quotes work for you, then, well, they work for you. There are plenty of them out there, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

