Skip to content
November 3, 2015 / Meredith

When You Wish Upon A Star

How many times have you wished for something?  I know I’ve made a lot of wishes just blowing out my birthday candles every year.  I don’t know how many of those wishes have come true because I’ve not kept track of them from year to year.  Here is the place I’m writing down my wishes, as of this particular moment in my life, in no particular order.

  1.  I wish I could keep my own hours – be awake when I’m awake and asleep when I’m asleep.  I don’t want anything  disrupting my circadian rhythm.
  2. I wish I could be more organized.
  3. I wish I could be more disciplined.
  4. I wish I were as immortal as I was thirty years ago.
  5. I wish I could please everyone.
  6. I wish I didn’t feel as thought I should please everyone.
  7. I wish I could take a major vacation at least once a year.
  8. I wish I could have one more hour with my brother.
  9. I wish I really knew what my dreams meant.
  10. I wish there were no such thing as political correctness.
  11. I wish my parents would stop getting older.
  12. I wish I knew where the path I didn’t follow lead to.
  13. I wish I wasn’t so curious about the path I didn’t follow.
  14. I wish I had the courage to be more courageous.
  15. I wish I were more articulate.
  16. I wish some people would stop treating their pets like children.
  17. I wish some people would stop treating their children like pets.
  18. I wish I were writing this list in Cathedral Square, Cologne Germany, with a never ending piece of cherry cheesecake.
  19. I wish Trudy and Matthew and David would come to life, even though they’re merely characters in my story.
  20. I wish the next twenty-nine days would go by as quickly as twenty-nine minutes.

How many of these wishes can come true?  In my imagination, all of them, but in reality much fewer.  The point of this exercise was to “let loose, free your mind, unlock ideas.”  Ironically I feel more constricted than ever.

The End

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. jessamayann / Nov 3 2015 3:25 am

    I felt the same way trying to make a list. Almost couldn’t breathe writing a list! ( turned my into a sabotaged story.. Ugh!) You did it great! Good job getting us to feel your list.

    • Meredith / Nov 3 2015 3:50 am

      It took me a while to get twenty items on my list and the more I wished the more distraught I became. Such is the life of a writer, yes?

  2. livinginarabia / Nov 3 2015 3:32 am

    I relate to many of these – particularly 5&6. Also I’m curious – what happens in 29 days??

    • Meredith / Nov 3 2015 3:53 am

      In twenty-nine days I retire from my day job. I’ve been at it for more years than I’d like to admit and can hardly wait to see what life is like outside of an office cubicle.

      Thanks for reading and for your comment!

      • livinginarabia / Nov 3 2015 5:18 am

        The best of luck for 29 days time 🙂

  3. kingsoracle / Nov 3 2015 4:07 am

    Great work here. I LOVE 16-18. 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

