Skip to content
October 9, 2016 / Meredith

Weekend Coffee Share ~ 10/08/16

It’s way too late for coffee.  Maybe some decaf?  Or a glass of wine?  I’ll have some wine and tell you what’s going on.

I spent the day playing vendor at a pretty major craft fair today.  Despite huge crowds I was a little disappointed with my sales.  However, Knick and I gave it our best shots at making the day at least entertaining.  What’s more entertaining than people watching?!

One of the first things that happened in the morning, that would be around 7:30 a.m., was a vendor who came in and pretty much told a bunch of us who’d already started setting up our canopies that we weren’t in the right positions.  In the craft show world the organizers of the shows tell vendors where to set up.  Knick and I set up exactly where we were told to set up, as did the other artisans around us.  Mrs. Bossy Boots told us we were wrong.  Knicky and I, along with the other half-set-up artisans wouldn’t budge, nor give Mrs. Bossy Boots the time of day.  Except for at one point I flipped her the bird while her back was turned to me.  I know, I’m a coward, but the vibe sunk in, along with the many glaring looks I gave her throughout the day.

Mrs. Bossy Boots sold pillows.  Fleece covered pillows.  A steal at $15 for anyone who doesn’t know how to sew a straight line on a sewing machine.  I’m pretty sure she made lots more money than I did today, which made me hate her more than ever.  Plus, she reminded me of my ex-sister-in-law’s mother, who is a loud-mouthed hillbilly.

**********

One older lady came into my booth and looked at the cute magnet sets I sell.  Sets, meaning themes.  Flowers, Barbies, fruits, Drinking Buddies – sets of six magnets pertaining to the same theme.  This woman asked me if I had any “team” magnets, as in football teams.  I wanted to reach over the craft-filled table and punch the dentures right out of her mouth.  I’m not about sports, much less teams, which is completely obvious  to anyone who pays attention to my booth contents.  I’m about cool and funny and ironic.  Grunting sports is not my gig.  In my head I told her sports are at least one-half of what’s wrong with our country and she should expand her intellectual and artistic horizons.  In reality I just shook my head no.  A very definitive NO, without apology.

**********

There were a few woman throughout the day who led their men around by the nose ring.  The guys would come into my booth and see things they thought were cool or funny and their wives/girlfriends/women talked them out of buying what they wanted.  That drives me up a wall.  Seriously?  If a woman can get her guy to go to a craft fair in the first place she should at least let him buy what he wants, right?  Guys, take a stand and buy that funny shit!

**********

Then there are the children.  I love the children.  One of them was very appropriately told by her mother not to touch anything.  Good plan, mothers!  Look, but don’t touch, especially if you have sticky fingers.  However, this little girl was very interested in the candles I sell, so I would pick up this one and hold it to her nose and let her take a deep sniff.  “Mmm,” she’d say.  Then she’s point at another and wonder what that one smelled like.  “Gingerbread Cookies,” I’d answer, and hold it to her nose for another deep sniff.  Kids love smelling candles, and if their parents have the least interest in having candles in their houses the kids can convince them to buy one or two.  Unfortunately, this kid didn’t show enough love, or the parent was not about the candles in the house or, especially, if there’s a pet in the house.  Alas, no sale, but a little girl who got a couple of whiffs of goodness.  Kids love smelling candles, and I get a lot of enjoyment out of watching them experience that.

**********

Yeah, I have to admit that even though some of the craft fairs I attend don’t result in great revenue they’re at least entertaining.  Plus it gets me out in the fresh air for a change.  I spend way too much time in the confines of my house and even more, my studio.

Yay craft shows, for giving me more entertainment than Hollywood could ever hope to present.

**********

To see who else is having coffee just click on the blue linky frog:

 

 

The End

Leave a Reply

