Skip to content
December 3, 2016 / Meredith

Weekend Coffee Share ~ 12/03/16

Welcome back!  I’ve been remiss in my writing endeavors not only here but everywhere.  I haven’t even written out my Christmas cards yet.

This week I was not quite myself as I had to depart from my usual and most comfortable hermit mode.  I was social.  Very social.  Social to the point of scaring myself.  It was scary mostly because I enjoyed myself way more than a hermit should when socializing.

Monday I was a cool cat and went to a music cafe to watch my nephews (plus two other band members) perform.  The place was great and was filled with family and friends of the band members.  There were some people there who didn’t know the band, but it was mostly moms and dads and grandparents and aunties and friends.  It was a fun time and I’m amazed my nephews can play instruments they taught themselves to play.  I had Johnny Cash songs running through my head the entire next day.

Tuesday Knick and I went to visit and old college friend of his.  He and his wife were at our wedding and we haven’t seen them since.  Plus, I only met them at our wedding so basically these people were strangers to me.  Social anxiety me was kind of nervous about this gathering, but Hein and Susan put me at ease right away.  Such wonderful people!  I’ve decided I want to adopt them as my BFFs and will be having them to our house in the very near future for another fun night of gabbing and eating.  I don’t know why Knicky didn’t keep up with these guys, because they’re without a doubt the nicest people in the universe.

Wednesday I had the night off from social events, which was a good thing because two nights of socializing in a row nearly makes me spontaneously combust.

Thursday I took my friend out for a birthday dinner.  Yes, I said “my” friend.  If I adopt Hein and Susan as BFFs I’ll have accumulated three friends.  Told you I was a hermit.  Anyway, we went to a restaurant that’s kind of fancy and while we were sitting at our table drinking the cocktails we ordered at the bar before being seated we both acquired the super power of invisibility.  We sat there for forty minutes and no one waited on us.  The place wasn’t busy, and  wait staff continually walked by our table but apparently didn’t see us sitting there waiting to order.  We finished our drinks and got up to leave.  The manager was at the hostess station and hoped we had a nice meal and I said, “um, no.”  Quite frankly I was surprised that he addressed me at all because clearly we were invisible to everyone else.  After I told him about the neglect we’d received he offered to pay for our dinner.  Aw hell no, and plus I’m going to spread it around town that this place sucks!  Friend and I went to another restaurant right down the street, were waited on immediately.  Unfortunately our super powers of invisibility were gone, but at least we got to eat and had a nice evening of bonding.

Friday I took the annual trek to a famous holiday bazaar in the city with Charlotte and our mom.  It was a great opportunity for me to pick up some unique Christmas gifts and bond with the ladies of my family.  Also included in the outing was a lunch consisting of lobster bisque and a visit to Anthony Scornavacco Antiques.  We brought the day to a close by having cocktails and dessert.  Again, nice bonding, but by this time my introverted hermit self was fit to be tied.

Today I spent some quality time with a frasier fir and did some laundry.  It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, so I better reserve my resources in the next day or two for a lot more socializing in the near future.

See what others are talking about over coffee by clicking on the linky thing. 

The End

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bettylouise31 / Dec 3 2016 6:02 pm

    It sound like your week was pleasant with all meeting old friends. So continue and have another super week.

    • Meredith / Dec 4 2016 10:05 am

      It was pleasant, but exhausting. This coming week is getting booked up too! Hope you have a great week also.

  2. Corina / Dec 4 2016 2:06 am

    It sounds like you had a great week, invisibility episode aside! Sometimes it’s good to take a break from being a hermit!

    • Meredith / Dec 4 2016 10:06 am

      True that. I have to mix with my species once in a while. And too bad I can’t become invisible at will – wouldn’t that be fun?

      • Corina / Dec 4 2016 10:21 am

        I think, if I could choose a super power, it would be invisibility.

  3. Rowena / Dec 4 2016 5:25 am

    Glad you’ve met some new friends. I am quite an extrovert but I have to watch my energy levels and need to rest and so tend to strive for balance. My daughter is fairly shy and introverted and absolutely terrified of speaking in public and I’m quite the reverse. I have an acute phobia of false teeth, which I think is getting better and parking my car.
    I am quite interested in the differences between introverts and extroverts and how they interact. I can end up feeling rejected by some introverts where others I connect really well with. I also enjoy bouncing off another extrovert and thrive on that energy too.
    It’s taken me a long time to realise that some people not only enjoy their own company but need it. They’re not lonely.
    This is a very intriguing dynamic.
    Hope you have a great week.
    xx Rowena

    • Meredith / Dec 4 2016 10:10 am

      I’ve never heard of a false teeth phobia. What scares you about them? I picture, maybe, someone’s false teeth jumping out of their mouth and biting your face.

      Being an introvert is quite satisfying – I get my energy from being alone, while too much interaction with other people sucks the energy out of me. It isn’t that I don’t enjoy others’ company, but boy is it exhausting.

      Thanks for your comments. Let me know about that false teeth phobia if you get a chance.

  4. imaginativeworks / Dec 4 2016 9:32 am

    Good luck with your Christmas cards, I just finished mine and need to get them in the mail. It is such a big job and I find that there aren’t too many of us left that takes the time to still do them with e-cards and photo cards being available. Anyway, lovely post. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Meredith / Dec 4 2016 10:12 am

    I’m glad to hear you send actual cards. It’s so much fun to get something other than bills in the mail, even if it’s only once a year, right? Congratulations on getting yours done – mine will be out by the end of the week. Have a merry Christmas season!

  6. Pamela Morse / Dec 4 2016 11:32 am

    Antiques and a holiday bazaar sound like just the thing right now. I have not done Christmas cards for many decades. Digital works fine for me. Happy holiday season to you at home and on your new social whirl.

    • Meredith / Dec 4 2016 12:57 pm

      Yeah, it sure was fun. It’s that holly jolly time of year. I hope you have a wonderful season too!

  7. Shilpa Garg / Dec 4 2016 2:00 pm

    It sounds like you had a busy week! Socializing and meeting friends and family is fun and it is good to do that every now and then. Holiday bazaar has piqued my interest, I love shopping at such places!

    • Meredith / Dec 4 2016 2:56 pm

      After all is said and done I’m very happy to meet with friends and family, no matter how much it wears me out. The holiday bazaar was spectacular – I love buying original and handmade things directly from the artisan. Thanks for reading!

  8. Natalie / Dec 5 2016 9:48 am

    Wow, sounds like a busy week! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    • Meredith / Dec 5 2016 11:58 am

      The beginning of a month full of activity. I hope I’m ready for it!

  9. amiewrites74 / Dec 5 2016 11:55 am

    What a busy week! Invisibility would be an awesome super power. But not in the restaurant, sorry to hear that happened to you. The holiday bazaar sounds like a lot of fun!

    • Meredith / Dec 5 2016 12:00 pm

      Maybe I’ll get an invisibility cloak for Christmas! At least my friend and I got to have a nice chat while being invisible in the restaurant. Thanks for reading!

      • amiewrites74 / Dec 5 2016 12:42 pm

        That’s true, at least it wasn’t time totally wasted. I think an invisibility cloak would be an AWESOME gift.

Leave a Reply

