Skip to content
March 27, 2024 / Meredith

Is Blogging A Thing?

Oh my ever loving God. The last time I posted here was over five year ago.

There was a day, many days, years and years worth of days, that I would spend the down time at my job reading blog posts from so many fun and informative authors. Since I left that job I haven’t been reading my favorite blogs. I still get email notifications of their postings, yet I don’t open them up to read. Seriously, my unopened email list numbers close to three hundred. I love these blogs, but I just don’t read them like I used to. And it’s not because I don’t have time. I’m sorry, my favorites. I’ve become disengaged and mental.

My question to any of you people who have followed me in the past or are still blogging on a regular basis is…is there still a blog-reading audience out there? Is the rest of the world as disengaged and mental as I am?

I have a few drafts in the coffer as I’ve taken to the keyboard recently. I’m not really looking for validation for my posts, I’m just wondering if people still blog. For fun. Apparently so, as I have a shit ton of posts from many authors I like but have not read in a while. But I’d like to hear from actual bloggers who may or may not be getting the same interactions with readers as you did, say, five years ago. Are blog posts still a mode of entertainment/information?

Is blogging still relevant? How is your audience? Does audience even matter to you when you take to the keyboard and screen? Why do you blog? Is there still a blogging community as I remember from years ago?

I’m going to start a series entitled “Letters.” It’s an experiment and perhaps a relaunching of sorts. The Letters series will be intermittent, perhaps intermingled with other, random posts.

Hopefully some of you will see this and give me some insights. I look forward to any comments.

The End

Leave a comment