Skip to content
April 15, 2024 / Meredith

A-Z Challenge Catch-Up

OK, so I wanted to do the A-Z challenge and started halfway through the alphabet. Then I lapsed more. Lots of determination and motivation here! So I thought I’d give a little catch-up of sorts. I started and left off with “K.”

Next, “L.” The only word that came to mind was “loser.” And what better way to express my feelings on that subject is a little tune my beloved introduced me to years ago. I love it and proclaim the chorus often when I’m feeling particularly Loser-ish.

“M” = Mom. Not goin’ there today.

“N” = Nana. Not goin’ there today either, but I’ve got a letter in store for a star quality grandma, aka Nana. She’s not my grandma, but she is one, and I’ll bet the rent she’s in a pickle with her life choices. Stay tuned on that.

Which brings us to today’s letter, “O.” “O” = Opinion. Someone once said, “Opinions are like assholes. Everyone’s got one and they all stink.” I know a woman who thrived on discussing things with her contemporaries. Except all of her contemporaries are dead by now and she’s got no one to discuss with anymore. Here’s the thing about discussing…it’s only a discussion/opinion debate when you listen to your discussion mate instead of constantly thinking about how you’re going to prove them wrong the whole while they’re discussing/opining. There’s where I missed the boat. I should have listed my “L” challenge word as “Listen.” Alas, the words are down and there’s no taking them back. Same with opinions. You put them out there, you’re responsible for what you say. If your opinion isn’t up to task for debate, then it ain’t worth shit. I know a handful of people who have opinions that aren’t fact-based, opinions that trigger deep emotional scars, and opinions that are a desperate attempt to prove intelligence and superiority, both of which are sorely lacking. Don’t care who you are, opinions are emotionally-based and aren’t worth the effort of arguing. And that’s my opinion.

The End

Leave a comment